Writing is Hard, Y’all.

Stone-Heart

Welcome to my new blog, Girl Meets Monster. Here I will talk about writing – my own process, what I learn about writing from friends and mentors, as well as what the act of writing itself reveals to me. This blog will also feature book reviews, film reviews, and musings about narrative in general, but specifically about stories I really enjoy and think you might as well. And, from time to time, I will share tales about the horrors of dating as a divorced single parent. My fascination with monsters often clouds my judgment when choosing appropriate partners. As you might imagine, hilarity ensues…hilarity, heartbreak, dashed hopes, the promise of shallow graves…to-MAY-to, to-MAH-to.

Before I launch into any deep discussions of recent narratives I’ve enjoyed, or plunge into a tirade about why I may become celibate, allow me to tell you a little bit about myself…

Michelle R. Lane, Writer

I always dreamed of being poor, destitute and insane, so I became a dark speculative fiction writer. Still not content with the rejection and pain of being turned down by publishers, I crank up the anxiety by working a full-time job as a web content writer for a public university and tackling the never-ending to-do lists of a single parent. When I find time to write in the dark, cold, and lonely stillness of the wee hours, I enjoy spinning heart-warming yarns about slavery, vampirism, and the perils of falling in love with monsters. As of January 2015, I hold an MFA in Writing Popular Fiction from Seton Hill University. Invisible Chains, a supernatural slave narrative, is my first novel. My short story, “The Hag Stone,” was published November 2014 in the anthology Dark Holidays, available from Dark Skull Publications.

Invisible Chains – Elevator Pitch

A Mambo Priestess in training, Jacqueline is a runaway slave accused of killing her masters. Seduced by a vampire, stalked by a werewolf, and hunted by slave catchers, she must set aside her fears and rely on her ancestral magic to guide her safely to Freedom.

Stay Tuned

I’m a bit out of practice, so please be patient as I drag myself, kicking and screaming, back into the world of blogging. I have stuff to say. I’m going to say it here. In the meantime, if you’d like to check out posts from my old blog, you can do so there. I’ll have a new post ready for you tomorrow. My review of Stoker-nominated writer Craig DiLouie’s 2014 novel, SUFFER THE CHILDREN.

Wish me luck.

Leave a Reply

